Senator Patrick Leahy – BIO’s Senator of the Year

by VBSA on May 17, 2011

The Biotechnology Industry Organization (BIO) announced today its selection of Senator Patrick Leahy (D-VT) as Legislator of the Year for 2010-2011. Senator Leahy received the award as part of the BIO Legislative Day Fly-In.

BIO commends Senator Leahy for his continued efforts, as Chairman of the Senate Committee on the Judiciary, to protect the unique importance of life science patents. Thanks in large part to his leadership, the U.S. Senate recently overwhelmingly approved consensus-oriented patent reform legislation. If enacted into law, the America Invents Act (S. 23) would strengthen and improve our nation’s patent system by enhancing patent quality and the efficiency, objectivity, predictability, and transparency of the system.

More than 200 biotechnology industry representatives from 32 states will participate in hundreds of meetings with Members of the House and Senate during the BIO Legislative Day Fly-In. Participants will discuss issues critical to the biotechnology industry including patent reform, NIH/ FDA funding, and expanded eligibility for Small Business Innovation Research grants. The award will be presented this evening during a reception at the Reserve Officers Association in Washington, D.C.

BIO represents more than 1,100 biotechnology companies, academic institutions, state biotechnology centers and related organizations across the United States and in more than 30 other nations. BIO members are involved in the research and development of innovative healthcare, agricultural, industrial and environmental biotechnology products. BIO also produces the BIO International Convention, the world’s largest gathering of the biotechnology industry, along with industry-leading investor and partnering meetings held around the world.

Previous post:

Next post: